Save the date: 2020 Social Justice Dinner


Related Project: Homepage, Uncategorised

October 31, 2019

Social Justice Dinner 2019


The Public Interest Advocacy Centre invites you to join us with special guest speaker Ben Quilty at the 2020 Social Justice Dinner.

The Social Justice Dinner is PIAC’s main fundraising event to support our work to create systemic change by tackling barriers to justice for people who are vulnerable and facing disadvantage. Guests will have the opportunity to win some fabulous silent auction prizes or make a tax-deductible donation.

Date: Thursday 27 February 2020

Time: 6:30pm

Venue: Doltone House, Hyde Park

Dress code: Cocktail/lounge suit

Featuring guest speaker: Ben Quilty


Ben Quilty

Acclaimed contemporary Australian artist Ben Quilty believes in the capacity of art to drive change. His practice is socially engaged and often responds to issues of human rights and social justice. He has protested the death penalty in Indonesia, the refugee crisis in Syria and indigenous rights in Australia. In 2011, Quilty travelled to Afghanistan as an official war artist with The Australian War Memorial. He was invited by World Vision Australia to travel to Greece, Serbia and Lebanon with author, Richard Flanagan, to witness firsthand the international refugee crisis in 2016.

Quilty’s painting is not polite. Smeared, smudged, caked and slapped onto the picture plane with bold virtuosity, his rich impasto works challenge assumptions. Using bold and unsettling subjects, he explores the problematic relationship between the personal and the cultural. He has been a finalist in the prestigious Wynne and Archibald prizes and won the Doug Moran National Portrait Prize in 2009 and the Archibald Prize in 2011 with his portrait of artist, Margaret Olley.

Tickets will be on sale in December 2019.

For event enquiries please contact Ann Sloan or (02) 8898 6500.

If you are unable to join us on 27 February but would like to support PIAC



PIAC Fundraising Committee

Wendy Brooks, Sarah Ferguson, Penny Gerstle, Rebecca Gilsenan, Jane Marquard, Ralph Pliner, John Walker (Committee Chair)



Pin It on Pinterest